The Government of the Republic of Nauru

2012 台灣志工協助建置 ╭═╦╯ ║ ╰ ╭╦══╦══╦╯ ╭╯ ╮ ═╮══╦╩╦══ ══╬══╬══╯╭═══════╮╭╯ ╰╮ ╰╭╯║ ║╰╮ ║ ║ ╭╯║╭═║═╮═╮║╰═══════╣═╮ ╰════╮ ╭═╬╯ ╰╮╯ ╯ ╰════ ╭══════╮ ╰ ╭════╯ ║ ╭╰╮ ╠═╭══╯ ║ ║ ╭ ╰════╮ ╯ ╯ ╰╯ ═══╯╰═══ ╰══════╯ ═╯ ╯ MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMM ?MM" ~"MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMM~ xMMM :MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMX MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMM "MMMM ""?MMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMM " MMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMXxx "" MMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMx xx: MMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM: MMMMMHXMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMX MMMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM"" ~MMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM" "MMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM" MMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM~ xMMHx: "MMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMMMMM"" xxMMMMMMMMMx "MMMMMMM MMMMMMMM"~ xxMMMMMMMMMMMMMx ?MMMMMM MM?"" xxxXMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMx ~MMMMMM M ::????????!?!!!!!!!?!????????: "MMMMM MM!!!!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~! ~!MMM MMMMHXXXXXXXXXXX!!!!!!!!X!!XXXXXXXXXx MM / \ | _________________________________________ | | | | | | | C:\>我愛台灣 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |_________________________________________| | | | \_________________________________________________/ \___________________________________/ ___________________________________________ _-' .-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-. --- `-_ _-'.-.-. .---.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.--. .-.-.`-_ _-'.-.-.-. .---.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-`__`. .-.-.-.`-_ _-'.-.-.-.-. .-----.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-----. .-.-.-.-.`-_ _-'.-.-.-.-.-. .---.-. .-------------------------. .-.---. .---.-.-.-.`-_ :-------------------------------------------------------------------------: `---._.-------------------------------------------------------------._.---'

FACT SHEET (for visiting media personnel)

Nauru is a small oval shaped island north-east of Australia. It lies 42 kilometres south of the equator.

A coral reef surrounds the entire island which is dotted with pinnacles.

Population - approximately 11,000 including non-Nauruan population of approximately 1,000.


The resumption of phosphate mining and exporting in 2005 gave Nauru's economy a much needed boost. The secondary deposits of phosphate have an estimated remaining life of about 30 years.


Nauru gained Independence on 31 January 1968.


Nauru's flag: The white 12-pointed star represents Nauru and the 12 tribes. The gold strip represents the equator and the blue background being the vast Pacific ocean which surrounds Nauru.


Visa requirements: for visiting media personnel: must send an email request to enter Nauru for media related work. Email to be sent to the director of the immigration office Mr Rajeev Keerthiyil  or for general enquiries


Required documents for visa application: A completed visa application form, scanned copy of passport/details page, letter from employer stating reason for trip, and payment of the AUD$8000 media visa application fee.

The Media Visa application fee is non-refundable should your application be unsuccessful.

  • Please note that immigration officials at the airport will take your passport upon arrival for processing at the office and will be returned later in the day or the following morning.


Cash: Australian dollars is the legal tender in Nauru. Foreign exchange at any outlet will be difficult.

Cash is still the common and preferred form of payment in Nauru, however, EFTPOS payments has become available in major supermarkets and some other outlets. Online payments are also accepted by most businesses. There is a Nauru Agency of the Bendigo Bank on island, the main office is located at the Civic Centre in Aiwo District. There are a number of ATMs on the island that accept most bank cards.


Accommodation: There are two hotels - one is government owned and the other is family owned. There are other accommodation options (unit type) that are privately owned. Please advise your preference and details can be forwarded on to you.


Weather: Generally around high 20s - mid-30s. Summer clothing recommended.


Attire: Modest summer clothing/casual wear is acceptable but if making appointments with Government officials or attending church services, it is recommended to dress respectfully.  Swimsuits are not a norm in Nauru; swimmers can either wear a sarong or shorts over swimsuits.


Transport: There is no public transport. Car hire is recommended. Please advise and company details will be forwarded to you.


Communications: SIM cards may be purchased from Digicel's main office or selected outlets.

Modems (desk and pocket size) are available for purchase.


Power/Voltage: 240volts


Media: Nauru Media Bureau houses the TV station, radio station and monthly newspaperMwinen ko.


Government Information Office (GIO): The GIO produces and publishes government press releases and the government newsletter,Nauru Bulletin.

For general information contact:


Government and portfolios:


The President of the Republic of Nauru is the Head of State and Head of Government -

His Excellency President Lionel Rouwen Aingimea, MP

The President's portfolios are:

Chairman of the Cabinet; Minister for Public Service; Foreign Affairs & Trade; Nauru Police Force; National Emergency Services;  Multicultural Affairs; Land Management; Nauru Air Corporation; Port Authority of Nauru; Eigigu Solution Corporation; Nauru RPC Corporation; Nauru Media; Information, Communications & Technology; Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust; Education; Nauru Tourism; Naoero Postal Services Corporation; Cenpac Corporation.

Hon. Martin Hunt, MP

Minister Assisting the President; Finance & Sustainable Development; Transport; Eigigu Holdings Corporation.

Hon. Isabella Dageago, MP

Minister for Health; Internal Affairs; Women and Social Development Affairs; People With Disabilities.

Hon. Maverick Eoe, MP

Minister for Justice & Border Control; Sports; Nauru Sports Development Inc.

Hon. Rennier Gadabu, MP

Minister for Commerce, Industry and Environment; Climate Change; Infrastructure Development.

Hon. Reagan Winson Aliklik, M.P

Minister for RONPHOS; Nauru Rehabilitation Corporation.

Hon. Joe-Grant Wawani Dowiyogo, M.P

Minister for Fisheries Corporation; Nauru Utilities Corporation.


Nauru Parliament:

  • There are 19 publicly elected Members of Parliament (MP).
  • Elections are compulsory and are conducted every three (3) years.
  • The public elects the MPs in their respective constituencies; the 19 MPs elect a President; the President elects his Cabinet.



  • Fruit trees are coconut, mango, pawpaw, lime, breadfruit, sour sop, pandanus. The indigenous hardwood is the tomano tree.
  • There are a variety of flower trees/plants but the most widely used/favoured are the franjipani, iud, hibiscus, irimone (jasmine), eaquañeiy (from tomano tree), emet, bougainvillea and yellow bells.
  • Nauruans eat a variety of seafood but fish is still a favourite food of Nauruans - raw, dried, cooked.



  • 4 Infant schools
  • 3 primary schools (including the Catholic school)
  • 2 secondary level schools (Nauru Secondary School and Nauru College)
  • 1 school for the able/disabled