Votes & Proceedings of the Fifteenth Parliament

No. 23

Second Sitting of the Eighth Meeting Thursday, 8th April 2004

10.00 a.m.

- 1. The House met in accordance with the resolution made on Tuesday, 6th April 2004.
- 2. The Hon. Terangi Adam, M.P., (Deputy Speaker of Parliament) took the Chair and read Prayers.

3. Election of Speaker

The Chair called for nominations to fill the vacancy in the Office of the Speaker. There being no nominations forthcoming the election of Speaker was postponed to the next sitting day.

4. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Rene Harris moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until next Thursday, 15th April 2004 at 10 a.m.

The Hon. Derog Gioura (Minister Assisting the President) seconded.

5. **Motion of Amendment**

Dr. Keke (Yaren) moved to amend the motion - "That Parliament at its rising do adjourn until next Tuesday, 13th April 2004 at 10 a.m."

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Question put and negatived.

6. **Division of the House Called for**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Dr. Keke (Yaren) called for division.

The House divided.

AYES NOES

Dr. Keke	Mr. Adeang	Mr. Harris	Mr. Detenamo
Mr. Ribauw	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Ekwona
Mr. Stephen	Mr. Waqa	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Kun
Mr. Akua	Mr. Scotty	Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Botelanga
N. (T)			

Mr. Thoma

Total - 9 Total - 8

The question on the motion of amendment was resolved in the affirmative. Then the House at forty minutes past ten o'clock adjourned until Tuesday, 13th April 2004 at 10 a.m.

Members Present

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**