# Votes & Proceedings of the Fifteenth Parliament

No. 9

## Ninth Sitting of the First Meeting Thursday, 29th May 2003

10.00 a.m.

- 1. The House met at 10 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. The Deputy Speaker, Hon. Dr. Kieren Keke, M.P., took the Chair and read Prayers.

### 3. **Election of Speaker**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) to be Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

Mr. Kun (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Ribauw accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) was unanimously elected Speaker of the House, and was duly escorted to the Chair by the mover and seconder.

#### 4. Statement From the Chair

The Speaker acknowledged the honour conferred upon him by the House and sought support from all Members to assist him in running the affairs of the House in a smooth and efficient manner and that he will try to be impartial as much as he can.

### 5. **Election of President**

The Chair informed the House that three candidates were nominated at the sitting of the House on 6th May 2003, namely Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare), Mr. Clodumar (Boe) and Mr. Adeang (Ubenide), and accordingly the election proceeded by secret ballot in which the candidate with the least number of votes will be eliminated and a second ballot to be conducted again between the two remaining candidates.

First Ballot : Mr. Clodumar - 7 votes

Mr. Scotty - 6 votes Mr. Adeang - 4 votes

Mr. Adeang was duly eliminated from the election.

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) sought concurrence of the Chair if the House could take a

break of half an hour before the final ballot for the presidency.

The Chair indicated to the House that sufficient time had been given to all Members to consider their nominees and will therefore continue with the election of the President.

#### 6. **Motion**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) moved that the House be suspended for half an hour.

Mr. Clodumar (Boe) seconded.

Question put and negatived.

#### 7. **Division of the House Called for**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) and Mr. Clodumar (Boe) called for a division.

The House divided.

| AYES                  |               | NOES         |             |
|-----------------------|---------------|--------------|-------------|
| Mr. Harris            | Mr. Ekwona    | Mr. Akua     | Mr. Scotty  |
| Mr. Thoma             | Mr. Clodumar  | Mr. Waqa     | Mr. Namaduk |
| Mr. Detenamo Mr. Adam |               | Mr. Jeremiah | Mr. Adeang  |
| Mr. Stephen           | Mr. Botelanga | Mr. Kun      | Dr. Keke    |
| Mr. Gioura            | _             |              |             |
| Total - 9             |               | Total - 8    |             |

Question put and passed.

The House was suspended for thirty minutes.

#### 8. Election of President - Second Ballot

Results: Mr. Scotty - 10 Mr. Clodumar - 7

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) was duly elected President of the Republic.

### 9. **Leave Sought for**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) sought leave of the House to move a motion in that the Deputy Speaker vacates the Chair.

Leave was not granted.

### 10. **Motion To Suspend Standing Orders**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) moved that all relevant standing orders be suspended to enable him to move his motion.

Mr. Ekwona (Yaren) seconded.

Question put and passed.

#### 11. Division of the House Called for

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Dr. Keke (Yaren) called for a division.

The House divided.

| AYES          | NOES         |  |
|---------------|--------------|--|
| Mr. Harris    | Mr. Adeang   |  |
| Mr. Detenamo  | Dr. Keke     |  |
| Mr. Clodumar  | Mr. Akua     |  |
| Mr. Adam      | Mr. Kun      |  |
| Mr. Botelanga | Mr. Waqa     |  |
| Mr. Stephen   | Mr. Gioura   |  |
| Mr. Ekwona    | Mr. Namaduk  |  |
|               | Mr. Jeremiah |  |
|               | Mr. Thoma    |  |
|               | Mr. Scotty   |  |
| TOTAL - 7     | TOTAL - 10   |  |

Question put and negatived.

### 12. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Ludwig Scotty, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until next Tuesday morning, 3rd June 2003 at 10 a.m.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) seconded.

Question put and passed.

### 13. **Adjournment**

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question put and passed.

And then the House at fifty minutes past one o'clock p.m. adjourned until next Tuesday morning at 10 a.m.

#### **Members Present**

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

F. Cain

**Clerk of Parliament**