# Votes & Proceedings of the Fifteenth Parliament

# No. 3

# Third Sitting of the First Meeting Thursday, 8th May 2003

2.00 p.m.

1. The House met at 2 p.m. pursuant to adjournment.

2. The Deputy Speaker, Hon. Dr. Kieren Keke, M.P., took the Chair and read Prayers.

### 3. Election of Speaker

The Speaker called for nominations for the vacant position of the Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Kun (Ubenide) to be Speaker.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Kun declined the nomination.

Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Namaduk (Ewa/Anetan) to be Speaker.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Namaduk declined the nomination.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, the election of Speaker of Parliament was adjourned to the next sitting day.

## 4. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Derog Gioura, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until Tuesday, 13th May 2003 at 10 a.m. Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

## 5. **Motion of Amendment**

Mr. Waqa (Boe) moved to amend the motion, that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow (Friday 9th May 2003) at 2 p.m. Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded. The motion of amendment was put and negatived.

### 6. **Division of the House Called for**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) called for division. **The House divided.** 

AYES	NOES	
Mr. Adeang	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Scotty
Mr. Ribauw Mr. Waqa	Mr. Gioura Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Adam Mr. Clodumar
Mr. Kun	Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Thoma
Mr. Akua	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Harris
Total - 5	Total - 10	

Question put and negative.

#### 7. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Derog Gioura, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until Tuesday, 13th May 2003 at 10 a.m. Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded. Question put and negatived.

#### 8. **Division of the House Called for**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) and Mr. Clodumar (Boe) called for division.

## The House divided.

AYES

NOES

Mr. Harris	Mr. Thoma	Mr. Ribauw
Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Adeang
Mr. Scotty	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Kun
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Waqa
Mr. Adam	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Akua

### **TOTAL - 10**

TOTAL - 5

Question put and passed.

# 9. Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question put and passed.

And then the House at sixteen minutes past three o'clock p.m. adjourned until next Tuesday, 13th May 2003 at 10 a.m.

#### **Members Present**

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

J. Garabwan Deputy Clerk of Parliament