### Votes & Proceedings of the Fifteenth Parliament

No. 2

# Second Sitting of the First Meeting Wednesday, 7th May 2003

2.00 p.m.

- 1. The House met at 2 p.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. The Chairman, Mr. F. Cain, took the Chair and announced that he had received a letter of resignation from the Speaker, Hon. Godfrey Thoma, M.P., which reads as follows -

"Dear Mr. Clerk,

Pursuant to Article 34(e) of the Constitution of Nauru, I hereby tender my resignation as Speaker of Parliament forthwith.

(Signed) Hon. Godfrey Thoma, M.P. Speaker of Parliament."

The Chairman then suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings.

2. The Deputy Speaker, Hon. Dr. Kieren Keke, M.P., took the Chair and read Prayers.

## 3. **Election of Speaker**

Mr. Ekwona (Yaren) nominated Dr. Keke (Yaren) to be Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Detenamo (Buada) seconded.

Dr. Keke declined the nomination.

Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) to be Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Akua declined the nomination.

Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Adam (Buada) to be Speaker of

Parliament.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Adam declined the nomination.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, and with the consensus of the House, it was resolved that the election of the Speaker be postponed to the next sitting.

#### 5. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Derog Gioura, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow afternoon at 2 p.m.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Question put and passed.

#### 6. Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

And then the House at fifty minutes past four o'clock p.m. adjourned until tomorrow afternoon (Thursday, 8th May 2003) at 2 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

J. Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**