## Votes & Proceedings of the Fifteenth Parliament

No. 1

# First Sitting of the First Meeting Tuesday, 6th May 2003

10.00 a.m.

1. The Chairman of the House, Mr. F. Cain, took the Chair and read Prayers.

## 2. Proclamation Read by the Chairman.

"WHEREAS, the Fourteenth Parliament dissolved on the 26th day of March, 2003;

AND WHEREAS, a Writ was issued by the Speaker by and with the advice of the President dated the twentieth day of March 2003, the Speaker appointed the third day of May 2003 for the holding of a General Election in accordance with the advice of the President:

AND WHEREAS, I have received the return of the said Writ notifying me that the said General Elections were duly held and of the names of the persons elected;

I, Ross M. Cain, in accordance with the advice of the President do appoint and proclaim that the Fifteenth Parliament of Nauru shall meet at the Parliament House in the District of Yaren at the hour of ten o'clock in the forenoon on Tuesday, the sixth day of May, 2003 and shall proceed to transact the following business namely -

First, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Speaker;

Secondly, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Deputy Speaker;

Thirdly, the election of two Members of Parliament to be Deputy Chairmen of Committee;

and in that order before the transaction of any other business;

and Parliament must at its first sitting thereafter elect a Member of Parliament to be President of Nauru.

Signed Ross M. Cain, M.P."

#### 3. **Return of the Writ Tabled.**

## 4. Swearing-in of Members

His Honour the Chief Justice, Mr. Barry H. Connell, entered the Chamber to administer the Oath to Members.

# 5. **Election of Speaker**

The Chairman called for nominations for the Office of Speaker.

Since no nominations were forthcoming, the Chairman suspended the sitting until 2 p.m. in the afternoon.

#### Resumed.

## 6. **Election of Speaker**

The Chairman again called for nominations for the Office of Speaker.

Mr. Kun (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Clodumar (Boe) to be Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Clodumar declined the nomination.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) nominated Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) to be Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Thoma accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) was duly elected Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament and thereafter was escorted to the Chair by the proposer and seconder.

# Mr. Speaker, Hon. G. Thoma, M.P., took the Chair and thanked the Members for their confidence in him.

## 8. Election of Deputy Speaker

Dr. Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Pres Nimes Ekwona (Yaren) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Ekwona declined the nomination.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) nominated Mr. Adam (Buada) to be Deputy Speaker.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) seconded.

Mr. Adam declined the nomination.

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Botelanga (Meneng) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Botelanga declined the nomination.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Detenamo (Buada) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Detenamo declined the nomination.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Harris (Aiwo) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Harris declined the nomination.

Mr. Kun (Ubenide) nominated Dr. Keke (Yaren) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Dr. Keke accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Dr. Keke was duly elected Deputy Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

## 9. Election of Two Deputy Chairmen of Committee

Mr. Namaduk (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) and Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) to be Deputy Chairmen of Committee.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Jeremiah accepted the nomination.

Mr. Gioura declined the nomination.

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) to be the other Deputy Chairman of Committee.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Akua accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Jeremiah and Mr. Akua were duly elected Deputy Chairmen of Committee of the Fifteenth Parliament.

#### 10. **Election of President**

In accordance with Article 16 of the Constitution, the Speaker called for nominations for the President of the Republic.

Mr. Namaduk (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) to be President of the Republic.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Scotty accepted the nomination.

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) nominated Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) to be President of the Republic.

Mr. Detenamo (Buada) seconded.

Mr. Gioura declined the nomination.

The Speaker suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings.

#### Resumed.

## 11. Election of President

Mr. Detenamo (Buada) nominated Mr. Clodumar (Boe) to be President of the Republic.

Mr. Ekwona (Yaren) seconded.

Mr. Clodumar accepted the nomination.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) to be President of the Republic.

Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Adeang accepted the nomination.

Upon a request for suspension of the sitting made by Members, the Speaker suspended the sitting for thirty minutes to allow Members to look into certain matters.

#### Resumed.

12. By consensus of the House it was resolved that the election of the President be postponed until the following day.

## 13. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting.

His Excellency President Derog Gioura, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow morning at 10 a.m.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) seconded.

## 14. **Motion of Amendment**

Mr. Clodumar (Boe) moved to amend the motion, that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow afternoon at 2 p.m.

Mr. Ekwona (Yaren) seconded.

The motion of amendment was put and passed.

## 15. **Adjournment**

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question put and passed.

And then the House at forty-five minutes past six o'clock p.m. adjourned until tomorrow afternoon (Wednesday 7th May 2003) at 2 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

J. Garabwan

Deputy Clerk of Parliament/