Votes and Proceedings of the Eighteenth Parliament No. 31

First Sitting of the Nineteenth Parliament Saturday, 13th March 2010

2:00 p.m.

- 1. The House met at 2.00pm in according with the resolution of the House made on Wednesday 17th February, 2010.
- 2. Hon. Riddell Akua M.P., Speaker of Parliament took the Chair and read prayers.

3. Statement from the Chair

The Chair informed the House in his Statement that, there are two matters before the Chair and he would address one and that was the advice by the President to dissolve Parliament which read as follows:-

Article 41(2) & 41(4) Of the Constitution of the Republic of Nauru

Advice to the Speaker To dissolve Parliament

I, Marcus Stephen, President of the Republic of Nauru, hereby advise you to dissolve Parliament and to refer my advice to Parliament.

Where no resolution under Article 24 is approved after the date on which this advice is referred to Parliament, you shall dissolve Parliament on the seventh day after the date.

Given this 13th day of March, 2010.

H. E Marcus Stephen, M.P.

President

The Chair then suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings.

Resumed.

4. Letter of Resignation.

Mr. F. Cain (Clerk of Parliament) as Chairman, took the Chair and announced that he had received a letter of resignation from the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Riddell Akua M. P., which read as follows:-

13th March 2010

Dear Clerk of Parliament,

Due to the ominous cloud hanging over parliament, I hereby with regret tender in my resignation as the Speaker of Parliament.

Yours sincerely,

Hon. Riddell Akua M.P. Speaker of Parliament

The Chairman then called upon the Deputy Speaker Hon. Dominic Tabuna M.P., to take the Chair and conduct the business of electing a Speaker of Parliament.

The Chair Suspended the Sitting to allow seating arrangement to be made in the Plenary Chamber for the Member of Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare and to resume when the bell rings.

Resumed.

5. <u>Election of Speaker.</u>

The Chair called for nominations to fill the vacant position of the Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Riddell Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) to be Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Waqa (Boe) seconded.

Mr. Akua declined the nomination.

Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) nominated Mr. Dominic Tabuna (Yaren) to be Speaker of Parliament.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Tabuna declined the nomination.

Their being no further nominations forthcoming, the election of Speaker was deferred to the next sitting.

6. **Adjournment of the House.**

The Chair at 23 minutes past 2 o'clock p.m., adjourned the House until Tuesday 16th March 2010 at 10 a.m.

Members Present

All members were present at some time during the Sitting.

John Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**