Votes & Proceedings Of the Eighteenth Parliament

No. 20

Fourth sitting of the Twelfth Meeting Thursday, 25th June 2009

10.00 a.m.

- 1. The House met at 10 a.m. in accordance with the resolution of the House made on Tuesday, 23rd June 2009.
- 2. Hon. Riddell Akua, M.P., Speaker of Parliament, took the Chair and read Prayers.

3. **Notice of motion**

Mr. Tabuna (Yaren), as Chairman of the Select Committee on Corey Caleb, moved that at the next sitting of Parliament he shall move a motion that the House adopt the Report of the Select Committee on Corey Caleb.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) seconded.

4. **Questions without notice** were asked.

5. Ministerial Statements & Tabling of Papers

Hon. Sprent Dabwido (Minister for Transport) made the following statement to the House:-

'Hon. Speaker and colleagues, I have the pleasure in informing the House that Our Airline Board have, in March, appointed a new Chief Executive Officer. The existing CEO, Mr. Jim Bradfield had requested for early terminal leave due to medical conditions.

I would like to thank Jim wholeheartedly for his tremendous work done particularly in winning Our Airline the Air Solomon charter work. I wish him all the best in his endeavours.

During the interim former CEO, Mr. Geoff Bowmaker was recalled back to hold the reins while the Board looked for a permanent CEO. I did not take the Board a long time to come up with a decision.

Mr. Karam Chand commenced work as the CEO of Our Airline in mid April this year and I am proud to say that his work so far has been outstanding. Our Airline is very fortunate to have such an experienced and energetic CEO and I wish him the very best as he takes up the many challenges that are facing the aviation industry in this current global economic crisis.

Please find attached Mr. Karam Chand's CV for your information. Thank you.'

6. Leave of Absence

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) sought leave of absence for Mr. Waqa (Boe) who is away overseas. Leave was granted.

7. Order of the Day No. 1 - Constitutional Amendment Bills 2008

The House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole for further consideration of the Constitution of Nauru (Parliamentary Amendments) Bill 2008 and the Constitution of Nauru (Referendum Amendments) Bill 2008.

In the Committee (Mr. Chairman, Hon. Dominic Tabuna, M.P., presiding.)

8. Motion

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) moved that the Draft Agenda for the Committee's meeting be adopted. Question put and passed.

The Committee then went through Appendix I to the Interim Report on the Constitutional Amendment Bills and the consequential amendments.

Question put and passed.

9. **Motion**

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide0 moved that Standing Orders 170 and 181 be suspended to enable the Committee to consider the proposed consequential amendments.

Question put and passed.

10. **Article 34**

The Committee agreed unanimously to the additional words made under Article 34(d) – 'of the total number of members'.

11. Motion - Consequential Amendments

Hon. Frederick Pitcher (Minister for CIE) moved the following motion:-

'That the Committee adopt all recommended consequential amendments as highlighted in the document 'Draft Appendix 1 to the Interim Report of the Committee of the Whole showing proposed consequential amendments', and

That the Committee further resolve to correct the numbering of clauses (8) and (9) in Article 21B and references to those clauses on pages 22 and 23 of that document.'

Question put.

AYES Mr. Stephen, Mr. Pitcher, Mr. Kun, Mr. Dabwido, Mr. Akua, Mr. Solomon, Mr. Scotty, Mr. Tsitsi, Mr. Deireragea. Total – 9 votes.

There being no votes against, the motion was passed unanimously.

The Committee was suspended until the bell rings.

Resumed.

12. Motion

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide moved that the Committee adopt the Interim Report on the Constitutional Bills to the House and ask leave to sit again.

Debate ensued.

Question put and passed.

In the House

The Chairman reported the adoption of the Interim Report on the Constitutional Bills and asked leave to sit again.

13. **Motion**

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) moved that the Interim Report on the Constitutional Bills be adopted and asked leave to sit again. Mr. Tabuna (Yaren) seconded. Question put and passed.

14. Motion Fixing the date for the next Sitting

His Excellency President Marcus Stephen moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow morning at 10 am. Hon. Frederick Pitcher (Minister for CIE) seconded. Question put and passed.

15. Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn.

Hon. Frederick Pitcher (Minister for CIE) seconded. Question put and passed.

And then the House at twenty minutes past eight o'clock p.m. adjourned until tomorrow, Friday 26th June 2009 at 10 a.m.

Members Present

All Members were present at some time during the sitting, except

- * Mr. Waqa
 - Mr. Thoma
- ** Mr. Adeang

Frederick Cain Clerk of Parliament

- * Leave of absence
- ** Suspension