# Votes and Proceedings Of the Nineteenth Parliament

## No. 1

## First Sitting of the First Meeting Tuesday, 27<sup>th</sup> April 2010

1 The Chairman of the House (Mr. Frederick Cain) took the Chair and read prayers.

#### 2 Proclamation.

The Chairman welcomed Members to the inaugural sitting of the Nineteenth parliament and read the Proclamation made by the Speaker of Parliament and with the advice of the President, which read as follows:-

## CONSTITUTION OF NAURU ARTICLE 40(1) PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS the Eighteenth Parliament of the Republic of Nauru was dissolved on the 20<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2010.

AND WHEREAS by a writ issued by the Speaker by and with the advice of the President and dated the 20<sup>th</sup> day of March 2010 the Speaker appointed the twenty-fourth day of April 2010 for the holding of a general election of Members of Parliament in accordance with the advice of the President.

AND WHEREAS I have received the Return of the said writ notifying me that the said general election was duly held and of the names of the persons elected thereat.

I, SHADLOG BERNICKE, in accordance with the advice of the President DO APPOINT AND PROCLAIM that the Nineteenth Parliament of Nauru shall meet at Parliament House in the District of Yaren at the hour of Ten o'clock in the morning of Tuesday, twenty-seventh day of April 2010 and shall proceed to transact the following business,

#### NAMELY -

FIRST, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Speaker of Parliament,

SECONDLY, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Deputy Speaker of Parliament,

THIRDLY, the election of two members of Parliament to be deputy Chairmen of Committees,

and in that order before the transaction of any other business,

AND PARLIAMENT MUST at that it's first sitting thereafter elects a Member of Parliament to be President of Nauru.

GOD SAVE THE REPUBLIC!

SHADLOG BERNICKE SPEAKER OF THE PARLIAMENT.

GIVEN AND MADE this twenty-sixth day of April, 2010.

## 3. Tabling of Writ and Election of Members.

The Chairman laid on the Table of the House the Return of the Writ.

## 4. Swearing in of Members.

The Resident Magistrate, Mr. Nelson Laurere entered the Chamber to administer the Oath to the Members.

All Members took the Oath alphabetically constituency – wise.

## 5. Election of Speaker.

In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of Nauru, the House before it proceeds to the despatch of any other business shall elect one of its Members to be Speaker and accordingly the Chairman called for nominations for the Speaker of the House.

Mr. Tabuna (Yaren) nominated Mr. Tsitsi (Aiwo) to be Speaker of the Nineteenth Parliament.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) seconded.

Mr. Tsitsi declined the nomination.

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Tabuna (Yaren) to be Speaker of the Nineteenth Parliament.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Tabuna declined the nomination.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) to be Speaker of the Nineteenth Parliament.

Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Stephen declined the nomination.

Mr. Kun (Buada) nominated Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) to be Speaker of the Nineteenth Parliament.

Mr. Batsiua (Boe) seconded.

Mr. Amwano declined the nomination.

Their being no other nominations further coming, the Chairman with the concurrence of the House adjourned the Sitting until Thursday 29<sup>th</sup> April, 2010 at 10:00 a.m.

## **Members Present**

All members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan Deputy Clerk of Parliament.