Votes and Proceedings Of the Twentieth Parliament

No. 19

Seventh Sitting of the Tenth Meeting Wednesday, 16th November 2011

10.00am

- 1. The House met at 10:00am in accordance to its resolution made on Tuesday 15th November 2011.
- 2. Hon. Ludwig Scotty M.P., Speaker of Parliament took the Chair and read Prayers.

3. Message from the President

His Excellency President Sprent Dabwido made the following statement and laid at the Table of the House the appointment of his Cabinet Ministers and their portfolios.

Mr. Speaker and Honourable Members, and the good people of Nauru,

Before I introduce the new Cabinet of this government I would like to make a brief statement.

First, I owe an explanation to this nation and also ask them for their patience and understanding while Nauru goes through these changes.

Nauru is turning over a new leaf, Nauru has to put priorities in order. The Priority is not what this government say they are or what an individual says they are, the priority is what this nations says is the priority. And the priority or list of priorities are written down in the National Sustainable Development Strategy or commonly known as the NSDS.

Therefore, progressing the National Sustainable Development Strategy must be the priority and main focus of this Government. This government mus aim to achieve these goals, both short-term and long-term goals, as set out in the 20-year plan of the NSDS.

The NSDS's number one top priority demanded by the people is "GOOD GOVERNANCE" and that can only be achieved by this august House passing of the Constitutional Amendment Parliamentary Amendment Bill. That is a priority which in my view will determine the future of any government including this one. We cannot and should not ignore the demand of the people. We must always put our nation first for if we don't then we should not be here.

Within the NSDS, this nation must grow and develop both through human development and infrastructure. I share this priority and have the vision to build much needed new infrastructures such as wharf for ports, a new hospital and a bank. These are essential infrastructures which have been on the plan of previous governments but are now a priority of mine.

The good work of previous government will not be discarded but continued.

This new government before you has a good mixture of both experience and new blood. They will complement each other in progressing the NSDS. I have respect for their vision and their determination to achieve their vision for Nauru. And I know that Nauru expects our very best and I have no doubt that we will perform at our very best.

We all must not forget the past, and importantly we must learn from the past and more importantly do no repeat the past but change for the betterment of this Nation. I have faith that this group will live in today and not yesterday and I hope all of us here will do the same. Nauru is demanding results and deserves results. I have faith that his group will do exactly that and will produce results in the short time we have left.

I can assure Nauru that with our motto of "God's Will First" as our guide, this government will succeed in governing this country into the future.

I pay tribute to the previous government for the progress of good work for this nation; I ask them now to continue to support progressing Nauru's growth and development.

Mr. Speaker, with those words I will now introduce my Cabinet.

MINISTERS OF CABINET

H.E SPRENT ARUMOGO DABWIDO, M.P

BUSINESS OF GOVERNMENT

CHAIRMAN OF THE CABINET:Cabinet Secretariat

- Cabinet Secretariat
- Good Governance
- Government Information Office
- Audit

MINISTER FOR PUBLIC SERVICE:

- Chief Secretary's Department
 - Public Service Administration
 - Human Resource & Labour
 - Registry of Births, Deaths & Marriages
 - Nauru Post & Philately
 - Nauru Superannuation Board

MINISTER FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS & TRADE:

Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade

MINISTER FOR POLICE & EMERGENCY SERVICES:

- Nauru Police Force
- National Disaster Management

HON. DAVID ADEANG, M.P.

MINISTER FOR FINANCE & SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT:

- Department of Finance
 - Treasury
 - Bureau of Statistics
 - Planning and Aid Division (P.A.D)
 - Nauru Revenue Office (N.R.O)
- Insurance

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE:

- Department of Justice & Border Control
 Justice
 - Customs
 - Immigration & Passports
 - Quarantine
 - Prison & Correctional Services
- Judiciary & Courts
- National Coordinating Committee on Anti – Money Laundering & Countering the Financing of Terrorism

MINISTER FOR NAURU REHABILITATION CORPORATION

MNISTER FOR TELECOMMUNICATIONS

- Department of Information & Communication Technology
- RONTEL
- Cenpac

MINISTER FOR NAURU PHOSPHATE ROYALTIES TRUST

MINISTER FOR NAURU UTILITIES CORPORATION

MINISTER FOR COMMERCE, INDUSTRY & ENVIRONMENT:

- Department of Commerce & Environment
 - Commerce & Business Development
 - Food Security, Agriculture & Livestock
 - Tourism
 - Environment
 - Foreign Investment
 - Offshore Registry
- Nauru Agency Corporation
- Eigigu Holdings Corporation
 - Eigigu Headquarters & Civic Centre
 - Eigigu Civil Works
 - Meneñ Hotel

HON. SHADLOG BERNICKE, M.P.

HON. RYKERS SOLOMON, M.P.

HON. VALDON DOWIYOGO, M.P.

HON. GODFREY AWAIRE THOMA, M.P.

MINISTER FOR FISHERIES

• Nauru Fisheries and Marine Resources Authority

MINISTER FOR EDUCATION

- Department of Education
- Youth Affairs
- Technical & Vocational Training
- Nauru Language Bureau

MINISTER FOR HEALTH

• Department of Health & Medical Service

MINISTER FOR SPORT

• Department of Sport

MINISTER FOR TRANSPORT

- Department of Transport
 - Land Transport
 - Civil Aviation
 - Maritime Affairs
- Nauru Port Authority
- Nauru Air Corporation
- Nauru Fire & Rescue Services

MINISTER FOR RONPHOS

Thank you.

4. Motion Fixing the Date For the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Sprent Dabwido moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until a time and date to be fixed by the Chair.

Hon. D. Adeang (Minister for Finance) seconded.

Question Put and Passed.

5. Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn.

Hon. D. Adeang (Minister for Finance) seconded.

Question Put and Passed.

And then the House at thirty minutes past eleven o'clock am adjourned until a time and date to be fixed by the Chair.

Members Present

All members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan Deputy Clerk of Parliament.