# Votes and Proceedings Of the Twentieth Parliament

### No. 18

#### Sixth Sitting of the Tenth Meeting Tuesday 15<sup>th</sup> November, 2011

10:00am

1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.

### 2. **Absence of Quorum**

The Chair informed Members present of the absence of Quorum in the House and left the Chamber according to Standing Order 29, for want of Quorum.

Resumed

3. Hon. Ludwig Scotty, M.P., Speaker of Parliament took the Chair and read Prayers.

#### 4. Leave Sought For

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) sought leave of the House to move a motion on Article 24 of the Constitution that his House has no confident in the President and his Cabinet.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide), Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide), Mr Dube (Aiwo) and Mr. Waqa (Boe) rose from their seat to support the motion. Leave was granted

# 5. **Division of the House Called for**

H. E. President Frederick Pitcher and Hon. M. Batsiua (Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade) called for a division.

# The House divided

#### 

AYES		NOES	
Mr. Dube	Mr. Dabwido	H.E. Pitcher	Hon. Tabuna
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Adeang	Hon. Batsiua	Mr. Deireragea
Mr. Waqa	Mr. Amwano	Hon. Stephen	Mr. Kun
Mr. Bernicke	Mr. Dowiyogo	Hon. Dr. Keke	
Mr. Solomon		Hon. Akua	
<b>— 1</b> a			

# Total – 9

# Total - 8

#### 6. Motion

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) moved that pursuant to Article 24 of the Constitution, President and Ministers be removed from their offices.

Mr. Dube (Aiwo), Mr. Waqa (Boe), Mr. Bernicke (Buada), Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) and Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide) rose from their seat in support of the motion.

H.E President Frederick Pitcher did not accept the motion.

#### 7. Motion

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) moved that question on the motion on Article 24 be now put.

Mr. Dube (Aiwo), Mr. Waga (Boe), Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) and Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide) rose from their seat in support of the motion.

Question Put and Negatived.

#### 8. **Division of the House Called For**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Waqa (Boe) called for a Division.

# The House divided

### AYES

#### NOES

Mr. Dube	Mr. Dabwido	H.E. Pitcher	Hon. Tabuna
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Adeang	Hon. Batsiua	Mr. Deireragea
Mr. Waqa	Mr. Amwano	Hon. Stephen	Mr. Kun
Mr. Bernicke	Mr. Dowiyogo	Hon. Dr. Keke	
Mr. Solomon		Hon. Akua	

# Total – 9 Total – 8

Question on the motion resolved in the Affirmative.

#### 9. **Motion**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) moved that the Question be now put.

Mr. Dube (Aiwo), Mr. Waqa (Boe), Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) and Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide) rose from their seat in support of the motion.

Question Put and Negatived.

## 10. **Division of the House Called For**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) called for a division.

# The House divided

AYES		NOES	
Mr. Dube	Mr. Dabwido	H.E. Pitcher	Hon. Tabuna
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Adeang	Hon. Batsiua	Mr. Deireragea
Mr. Waqa	Mr. Amwano	Hon. Stephen	Mr. Kun
Mr. Bernicke	Mr. Dowiyogo	Hon. Dr. Keke	
Mr. Solomon		Hon. Akua	

#### Total – 9

Total - 8

Question on the motion resolved in the Affirmative.

Therefore, the Chair again put the question on the original motion to the House and it resolved in the Negative.

# 11. **Division of the House Called For**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) called for a division.

# The House divided

	AYES		NOES
Mr. Dube	Mr. Dabwido	H.E. Pitcher	Hon. Tabuna
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Adeang	Hon. Batsiua	Mr. Deireragea
Mr. Waqa	Mr. Amwano	Hon. Stephen	Mr. Kun
Mr. Bernicke	Mr. Dowiyogo	Hon. Dr. Keke	
Mr. Solomon		Hon. Akua	

# Total - 9

Total - 8

The Question on the original motion resolved in the Affirmative.

Pursuant to Article 24 of the Constitution of Nauru, President Pitcher and Cabinet were removed from office.

#### 12. **Motion**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) moved that the House to proceed with the Election of the President of the Republic of Nauru.

Mr. Waqa (Boe) seconded.

Question Put and Negatived.

# 13. **Division of the House Called For**

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) called for a division.

# The House divided

	AYES		NOES
Mr. Dube	Mr. Dabwido	Mr. Pitcher	Mr. Tabuna
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Adeang	Mr. Batsiua	Mr. Deireragea
Mr. Waqa	Mr. Amwano	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Kun

Total - 9		Total - 8
Mr. Solomon		Mr. Akua
Mr. Bernicke	Mr. Dowiyogo	Dr. Keke

The Question resolved in the Affirmative and therefore enabled the Chair to proceed with the Election of a President.

#### 14. **Election of President**

The Chair Called for nomination for the vacancy in the Office of the President of the Republic of Nauru.

Mr. Solomon (Meneng) nominated Mr. Sprent Dabwido (Meneng) to be President of the Republic of Nauru.

Mr. Bernicke (Buada) seconded.

Mr. Dabwido accepted his nomination.

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Dube (Aiwo) to be President of the Republic of Nauru.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) seconded.

Mr. Dube declined his nomination.

Dr. Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) to be President of the Republic of Nauru.

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) seconded.

Mr. Amwano declined his nomination.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Pitcher (Ubenide) to be President of the Republic of Nauru.

Mr. Batsiua (Boe) seconded.

Mr. F. Pitcher accepted his nomination.

There being no further nominations forthcoming and more than one candidate has been nominated, voting took place by a secret ballot.

### Result

Mr. Sprent Dabwido (Meneng)- 9 votes.Mr. Frederick Pitcher (Ubenide)- 8 votes.

Mr. Dabwido (Meneng) have received the majority number of votes on the House was declared the President for the Republic of Nauru.

# 15. **Motion Fixing the Date For the Next Sitting**

H.E. President S. Dabwido moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until tomorrow Wednesday 16<sup>th</sup> November 2011, at 10:00am.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Question Put and Passed.

16. Adjournment

H.E the President moved that Parliament do now adjourn.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Question Put and Passed.

And then the House at five minutes past twelve o'clock pm, adjourned until Wednesday 16<sup>th</sup> November 2011, at 10:00am.

# Members Present

All members were present at some time during the sitting

# John Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**