Votes and Proceedings Of the Twentieth Parliament

No. 1

First Sitting of the First Meeting Tuesday, 22nd June 2010

1 The Chairman of the House (Mr. Frederick Cain) took the Chair and read prayers.

2. Proclamation.

The Chairman welcomed Members to the inaugural sitting of the Twentieth Parliament and read the Proclamation made by His Excellency the President Marcus Stephen which read as follows:-

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS the Nineteenth Parliament of the Republic of Nauru was dissolved on the 11th day of June, Two thousand and Ten under Part IX of the Constitution and;

WHEREAS by a Writ issued by the President on the 11th day of June, Two thousand and Ten under Presidential Order 2 dated 11th June Two thousand and Ten, the President appointed the 19th day of June Two thousand and Ten for the holding of a General Election of Members of Parliament and

WHEREAS THE Return of the said Writ had been sent to the Clerk of Parliament as Chairman of the Inauguration of the Twentieth Parliament for the laying on the Table of the House that the said General Elections were duly held and of the names of the persons elected thereat

I, Marcus Stephen, do appoint and proclaim that the Twentieth Parliament of Nauru shall meet at the Parliament House in the District of Yaren at the hour of two o'clock in the afternoon of Tuesday the 22nd day of June, Two thousand and Ten and shall proceed to transact the following business, namely;

FIRST, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Speaker of Parliament,

SECONDLY, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Deputy Speaker of Parliament,

THIRDLY, the election of two members of Parliament to be Deputy Chairmen of Committees,

AND PARLIAMENT MUST at its first sitting thereafter elects a Member of Parliament to be President of Nauru.

Given and made this 21st day of June, Two thousand and Ten.

Marcus Stephen President

3. Tabling of Writ and Election of Members.

The Chairman laid on the Table of the House the Return of the Writ.

4. Swearing in of Members.

The Resident Magistrate, Mr. Eliesa Tuiloma entered the Chamber to administer the Oath to the Members. (All Members took the Oath alphabetically constituency – wise.)

(All Members took the Oath alphabetically constituency – w

5. Election of Speaker.

In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of Nauru, the House before it proceeds to the despatch of any other business shall elect one of its Members to be Speaker and accordingly the Chairman called for nominations for the Speaker of the House.

Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Deireragea (Ewa/Anetan) to be Speaker of the House.

Mr. Deireragea declined the nomination.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) to be Speaker of the House.

Mr. Amwano declined the nomination.

Their being no further nominations forthcoming, the Chairman in order to allow ample time for further decisions amongst Members, suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings.

Resumed (Tuesday 29th June, 2010)

The bell was rung at two minutes past five o'clock pm.

6. Election of Speaker.

The Chairman (Mr. Cain) Called for nominations.

There being no nominations forthcoming from Members, the Chairman suspended the sitting until tomorrow Wednesday at 10am.

Resumed (Wednesday 30th June, 2010)

The bell was rung at thirty five minutes past two o'clock pm.

7. Election of Speaker.

The Chairman called for nominations

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Amwano (Ubenide) to be Speaker of the House.

Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) Seconded. Mr. Amwano accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations forthcoming Mr. Amwano was declared Speaker of the Twentieth Parliament.

(Amwano was escorted to the Chair by the mover and the seconder.)

Hon. A. Amwano, Speaker of Parliament took the Chair and suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings.

Resumed.

8. Statement from the Chair.

Honourable Members,

We must do everything possible within the law of Nauru to end the 15 week stalemate. We are duty bound to allow and promote free and honest exchange within and outside the walls of this August Chamber.

I have therefore decided to take one step on behalf of all of us towards the end of this impasse, and for this opportunity I thank you all for the confidence of all members in my unopposed election as Speaker.

I hope all Members will assist me in my task to facilitate an end to this stalemate, and to this end I believe we must do all we can to promote and build mutual confidence and trust. We must continue to dialogue whenever possible in good faith, in the interest of the people who have elected us, but this cannot happen in an atmosphere of retribution, vindictiveness, smear campaigns, and tricks. Questionable voter transfers conducted recently does not promote confidence and trust, therefore I appeal to members to uphold and maintain the spirit of the electoral ACT.

Practice such as these must stop not only because of their legitimacy and legality is questionable but because they serve to deny an atmosphere conducive to building mutual confidence and trust, essential ingredients to our ability to work together.

I further appeal to honourable members and the caretaker Government that we observe all constitutional, legal and human rights during the state of emergency. Finally I congratulate the three new aspiring leaders for their joint efforts in

making this progress possible, and I am confident that after a brief adjournment to finalise a few procedural matters normal parliamentary and executive functions will continue in prosperity and harmony.

9. Election of Deputy Speaker

The Chair called for nominations for the vacant position of the Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Deireragea (Ewa/Anetan) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Dabwido (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Deireragea accepted the nomination

Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Tabuna (Yaren) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Waqa (Boe) seconded.

Mr. Tabuna declined his nomination.

There being no further nominations forthcoming, Mr. Deireragea was declared Deputy Speaker of the Twentieth Parliament.

10. Election of Two Deputy Chairman of Committees

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Dowiyogo (Ubenide) to be Deputy Chairman of Committees.

Mr. Dabwido (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Dowiyogo accepted the nomination.

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Bernicke (Buada) to be Deputy Chairman of Committees.

Mr. Dabwido (Meneng) seconded.

Mr. Bernicke accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations forthcoming and having accepted their nominations.

Mr. Dowiyogo and Mr. Bernicke were declared Deputy Chairman of Committees.

11. Motion fixing the date for the next sitting.

His Excellency the President Marcus Stephen moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until Friday 2nd July, 2010 at 10:00a.m Hon. Dr. K. Keke (Minister for Finance) seconded. Question Put and Passed

And then the House at 17 minutes past 10 o'clock pm adjourn until Friday 2nd July, 2010 at 10:00a.m.

Members Present

All members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan Deputy Clerk of Parliament.