Votes and Proceedings of the 21st Parliament

No.1

First sitting of the first meeting 11 June 2013

10.00am

1 Meeting of House

The House met at 10.00am in accordance with the Proclamation of the President, Sprent Dabwido M.P., following the General Election which took place on Saturday, 8 June 2013.

2 The Clerk of Parliament, Ms. Ann-Marie Thoma, as Madame Chairman of the House, took the Chair, read Prayers and conducted the proceedings of the new Parliament.

3 **Proclamation**

The Clerk read to the House the purpose of the meeting in accordance with the Proclamation of the President which reads as follows:

WHEREAS the Twentieth Parliament of the Republic of Nauru was dissolved on the 23rd day of May 2013.

And WHEREAS by a writ issued by the President dated the 27th day of May 2013, under Presidential Order 2 dated 27th May, 2013, the President appointed the 8th day of June 2013 for the holding of a general election of Members of Parliament.

AND WHEREAS I have received the Return of the said writ notifying me that the said general election was duly held and of the names of the person elected thereat.

I Sprent Arumago Dabwido, President, DO APPOINT AND PROCLAIM that Twenty First Parliament of Nauru shall meet and Parliament House in District of Yaren at the hour of Ten o'clock in the morning of Tuesday, 11th day of June 2013 and shall proceed to transact the following business,

NAMELY-

FIRST, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Speaker of Parliament,

SECONDLY, the election of a Member of Parliament to be Deputy Speaker of Parliament,

THIRDLY, the election of the two Members of Parliament to be Deputy Chairman of Committees, And in that order before the transaction of any business,

AND PARLIAMENT MUST at its first sitting thereafter elect a Member of Parliament to be President of Nauru.

GOD SAVE THE REPUBLIC

GIVEN AND MADE this 10th day of June, Two Thousand and Thirteen

(Signed) SPRENT ARUMAGO DABWIDO, PRESIDENT

4 Return of the Writ

Following the Proclamation, the Clerk then Tabled the Return of the Writ from the Returning Officer, Mr. Bernard Grundler, in reply to the President's Writ and announced the Members of the Twenty First Parliament as follows:

| Members | Constituency |
|-----------------------|--------------|
| Hon. Roland Kun | Buada |
| Hon. Shadlog Bernicke | Buada |
| Hon. Milton Dube | Aiwo |

| Hon. Aaron Cook | Aiwo |
|----------------------|---------------------|
| Hon. Mathew Batsiua | Boe |
| Hon. Baron Waqa | Boe |
| Hon. Ludwig Scotty | Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare |
| Hon. Riddel Akua | Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare |
| Hon.Charmaine Scotty | Yaren |
| Hon. Dr. Kieren Keke | Yaren |
| Hon. Cyril Buraman | Ewa/Anetan |
| Hon. Marcus Stephen | Ewa/Anetan |
| Hon. Sprent Dabwido | Meneng |
| Hon. Tawaki Kam | Meneng |
| Hon. Squire Jeremiah | Meneng |
| Hon. David Adeang | Ubenide |
| Hon. Valdon Dowiyogo | Ubenide |
| Hon. Russ Kun | Ubenide |
| Hon. Ranin Akua | Ubenide |
| | |

5 Taking of Oath

On the invitation of the Clerk, Justice John von Doussa QC was escorted into the Chamber by the Deputy Clerk to administer the Oaths of the newly elected Members. All Members took the Oath.

After the Oaths were taken it was moved that the House be recessed for 1 hour to which no objection was recorded.

6 Resumed

After 1 hour the sitting was resumed but no quorum was present and the House was recessed again for 1 hour or until the bell.

7 Election of Speaker

The Clerk then called for nominations for the Speakership.

Mr. David Adeang (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Ludwig Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) as Speaker.

Mr. Waqa (Boe) seconded.

Mr. Scotty accepted the nomination.

Mr. Roland Kun (Buada) nominated Dr. Kieren Keke (Yaren) as Speaker.

Mr. Riddell Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) seconded.

Dr. Kieren Keke accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, voting took place by secret ballot.

Results: Mr. Scotty - 14

Dr. Keke - 5

Mr. Scotty was declared Speaker of the Twenty-First Parliament.

The newly elected Speaker was escorted to the Chair by his proposer and seconder.

8 Election of Deputy Speaker

The Speaker, on assuming the Chair, then called for nominations for the position of Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Valdon Dowiyogo (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Ranin Akua (Ubenide) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. David Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Ranin Akua (Ubenide) accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Ranin AKua (Ubenide) was elected Deputy Speaker of the Twenty-First Parliament.

9 Election of Two Deputy Chairmen of Committees

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seeks indulgence to put off election of Deputy Chairmen of Committees, the election of members of the Standing Committees and the election of members of the Statutory Committees in order to proceed to the election of President.

Leave was granted.

10 Election of President

The Speaker then called for nominations for President.

- Dr. Kieren Keke (Yaren) nominated Mr. Roland Kun (Buada) to be President.
- Mr. Riddell Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) seconded.
- Mr. Roland Kun (Buada) accepted.
- Mr. Shadlog Bernicke (Buada) nominated Mr. Baron Waqa (Buada) to be President.
- Mr. David Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.
- Mr. Baron Waqa (Boe) accepted.

There being no other candidate nominated, voting took place by secret ballot.

Mr. Kun - 5

Mr. Baron Waqa was declared President of the Republic of Nauru.

11 Motion Fixing the date for the next Sitting

His Excellency President Baron Waqa moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until Thursday 13th June, 2013.

Mr. David Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Question put and passed.

12 Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn.

Mr. David Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Question put and passed.

And then the House at its rising do adjourned until Thursday 13th June, 2013.

Members Present

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

Ann-Marie Thoma Clerk of Parliament