

Press Release: Election Timeline Announced 29 August 2022



The Speaker has issued a Writ for 24 September to elect the 19 members of the 24th Parliament for a three-year term. The following dates mark key events in the electoral calendar.

E-Day-	Date	Day	Event
-28	27-Aug	Saturday	Writ Issued
-27	28-Aug	Sunday	
-26	29-Aug	Monday	
-25	30-Aug	Tuesday	
-24	31-Aug	Wednesday	
-23	1-Sep	Thursday	Voter Roll Published
-22	2-Sep	Friday	
-21	3-Sep	Saturday	Voter Roll Closes/ Proxy Applications Open
-20	4-Sep	Sunday	Candidate Nominations Open 9am
-19	5-Sep	Monday	
-18	6-Sep	Tuesday	
-17	7-Sep	Wednesday	
-16	8-Sep	Thursday	
-15	9-Sep	Friday	
-14	10-Sep	Saturday	Candidate Nominations Close 5 pm
-13	11-Sep	Sunday	
-12	12-Sep	Monday	
-11	13-Sep	Tuesday	Candidate Withdrawal closes 5 pm
-10	14-Sep	Wednesday	Ballot Lottery 5 pm
-9	15-Sep	Thursday	
-8	16-Sep	Friday	
-7	17-Sep	Saturday	
-6	18-Sep	Sunday	
-5	19-Sep	Monday	Early & Mobile voting starts 9 am
-4	20-Sep	Tuesday	
-3	21-Sep	Wednesday	
-2	22-Sep	Thursday	
-1	23-Sep	Friday	Proxy Applications Close 7 am Early
	24-Sep	Saturday	Voting Closes 5 pm
	24-3ep	Saturday	Polling Day (Mobile voting) Counting Continues Until Complete
			Counting Continues Onth Complete

Key changes for voters in 2022

- Voting on Polling Day will start at 7am and close at 6pm.
- Early voting is now open to all voters who wish to use this service. Please look out for more information coming on location and timings.
- Mobile voting will also start before Polling Day.

Voter Roll

The Voter Roll is up on the walls of the NEC today and will be published in the gazette on 1 September – it is vital that you check that you are included in the roll correctly. The roll closes on 3 September and cannot be easily changed after that date.

Outreach

Please keep a look out for our **outreach program** to help you understand your jobs in our democratic process. There will be community meetings, SMS, posters, a CrossFit program on 3 September, Facebook updates and a door knock program. If you have any issues, please come see us.

Candidate Nomination

The NEC will hold a candidate information session on **Saturday 3 September at 12:30pm**. If you are a declarant, please come and we will answer all questions and inform you of the new changes to the electoral system you will be competing under.

Overseas Voting

The NEC will accept proxy applications from Saturday 3 September – If you are going to use this system, please get your applications in as early as possible as they need a lot of processing.

We urge all Nauruan Citizens to Follow our Facebook page (Nauru Electoral Commission) and check our website www.election.com.nr for updates.

Declarants of intention to be nominated

Constituency	Women	Men	Total
Aiwo	2	8	10
Anabar	1	9	10
Anetan		8	8
Boe		6	6
Buada	2	11	13
Meneng	2	10	12
Ubenide	1	18	19
Yaren	4	4	8
Grand Total	12	74	86
	14%	86%	

Voters (As of 29 September)

Constituency	Voters		
Aiwo	852		
Anabar	711		
Anetan	919		
Вое	1020		
Buada	581		
Meneng	1388		
Ubenide	1748		
Yaren	835		
Grand Total	8054		

Ends.